Home Gothic Gothic II Gothic 3 Gothic 4 Downloads Forums
World of Gothic
 

   
World of Gothic
World of Gothic
 - Home
 - News Archive
 - RSS Feed
 - Poll Archive
 - FAQ
 - Story
 - Characters
 - Magic
 - Monsters
 - Demo
 - Weapons
 - Armors
 - Rings and amulets
 - Scrolls
 - How to install
 - Story
 - Magic
 - Monsters
 - Weapons
 - Armors
 - Solution
 - Maps
 - Insert-Codes
 - WoG Articles
 - Reviews
 - Interviews
 - Previews
 - WoG Articles
 - Reviews
 - Interviews
 - Previews
 - Screenshots
 - Artworks
 - Wallpaper
 - Solution
 - Cheats
 - Insert Codes
 - Waypoints
 - Performance
 - Maps
 - Screenshots
 - FAQ
 - Editing Wiki
 - Mod Projects

WorthPlaying.com
01.01.2005

The sequel to the critically acclaimed RPG, Gothic, Gothic II takes you on an even greater journey of adventure and discovery. The plot continues from the cliff-hanger of the original: After the imprisoned colony members are victorious, collapsing the magical barrier, the former Prison Colony is struck by a terrible earthquake, claiming the lives of many. The majority of survivors seize this opportunity to escape with only a handful of people remaining in the derelict prison.

8.0/10
GameAxis.com
31.05.2004

A review that concludes that while world is extremely well done, the interface and game mechanism are rather awful. In the end Gothic II does many things right, but also does many things wrong.
Gameplay: 6.0
Graphics: 7.5
Audio: 8.0
Value: 6.5

7.0
ArmChairEmpire.com
30.01.2004

A lot of times when playing PC RPGs players really have to think long and hard about a deluge of stats, be it their characters stats, or how to combine the various magically imbued items in their inventory. Its always a delicate balancing act and can often prove quite strenuous for all but the most seasoned fans of the genre. For those who arent terribly fond of this seemingly constant stat checking, but still enjoy the occasional role-playing romp, Gothic II might be right up your alley. Despite a clunky inventory, some steep system requirements and an even steeper learning curve for its combat system, Gothic IIs streamlined character building system, high degree of exploration, challenging gameplay, and entertaining story, are sure to keep players busy for hours.

8.2
DigGames.com
26.01.2004

Case in point: Gothic II. The original Gothic was a relatively decent RPG. Not exactly revolutionary, not exactly groundbreaking, but fun and, well ... better than expected. And while the original didn't exactly burn up the sales charts, it did well enough to merit a sequel. Which brings us to the present.

7.6
PCGameWorld.com
20.01.2004

This just might be the best role-playing game that I have ever had the opportunity to play. I must start by saying that I have never played the original Gothic. Luckily it gives you some back story and makes it so that you never needed to know that this was a sequel. It is great as a stand alone game, but my guess is that if I played the original it would have been even better.

WarCry.com
29.12.2003

I wasnt sure what to expect out of Gothic II. Having never played the original Gothic I really didnt know much about the game, the style, etc. It was one of those games I picked up multiple times at EB without ever really buying. These days buying an RPG is a real crap shoot. With very few exceptions RPGs tend to be a let down ever since they ported Ultima to a console platform and dumbed it down. I like RPG games that take an obsessive amount of time and a small notebook to try and come close to finishing. So it was with such trepidations that I sat down with Gothic II from Atari.

8.5
GameVortex.com
24.12.2003

On the average, Gothic II's graphics are pretty good. Most of the landscapes are well laid out with mountains, farms, rolling hills and the like, and the inner cities are what you would expect from this type of fantasy game. Your character and the characters around you have fluid movements most of the time, with only the occasional strange moving creature lumbering around on the map. The only real bad part is that most everything you can pick up, items and such, seem like they are camouflaged, which makes things very difficult when looking for that vital piece of shrubbery.

6.5/10
GameZone.com
29.11.2003

Gothic II takes place shortly after the events of the first Gothic, though it is not necessary for you to have played the first Gothic, I would certainly recommend it, since it was a pretty good game. Having completed your mission of liberating the prison camp and putting the Sleeper to sleep, the land is still in terrible danger and the king asks you "Insert name here" to again help him out.
Gameplay: 7.8
Graphics: 7.0
Sound: 7.9
Difficulty: Hard
Concept: 8.0

8.0
GameSpy.com
26.11.2003

Pros: Good graphics; good sound effects; lots of spoken dialogue.
Cons: New levels and better gear are hard to come by, making the game feel slow and frustrating.

2/5 stars
Loadedinc.com
26.11.2003

Gothic 2 came as a pleasant surprise. I have never been a particular fan of RPG games, especially single player ones, and so I was not expecting to enjoy myself in this game at all. I wasn't altogether keen on the long story driven narrative approach to the game either, where the plot unfolded in a series of interactive, but limited, conversations with characters within the game. The graphics, however, were very detailed and pleasing to the eye, and the land of Khorinis appeared vast and inviting. It was these two things that drew me into the game, and got me hooked.

8.5/10
Gamespot.com
17.11.2003

However, if you're up for a real challenge, and don't mind fighting with (and against) the game's clunky control scheme, Gothic II will provide you with many hours of difficult battles, exploration, and interesting quests.
Gameplay: 8
Graphics: 7
Sound: 7
Value: 8
Tilt: 9

8.1
IGN.com
11.11.2003

...every now and again, gamers that want an RPG that combines the personal nature of a single character with less mathematics get what they want. Such is the case with Gothic II, a generally fun and large gameplay experience that is hampered by a sad interface, a combat system that can be frustrating, and fairly hefty system requirements.
7.0 - Presentation
8.0 - Graphics
7.5 - Sound
8.0 - Gameplay
8.5 - Lasting Appeal


8.0/10
Just-RPG
28.10.2003

The folks at Piranha Bytes have done it again. I remember hearing all sorts of good reviews of Gothic I but whatever that game was, Gothic 2 is that and more. I had hours and hours and hours and hours of enjoyment playing this game, and by typing this review Im taking time away from it. Precious moments are lost! But I digress. I dont even know where to start...


97%
GameChronicles.com
28.10.2003

Ultima 9 "done right" or a less formidable Elder Scrolls 3: Morrowind, Gothic II is the RPG that many gamers have been waiting for, whether they realize it or not. After a long wait, Atari has brought Piranha Bytes' largely freeform RPG to the US shores. Although little hype seems to have spread, Gothic II is just as deserving of gamers' time and attention as any of 2003s major RPG releases.

8.5
RealGamer.co.uk
21.10.2003

The first Gothic saw our un-named hero sent to a mining prison colony where the inmates were made to mine magical ore in order to fend off the Orcs. The game ultimately saw players fighting off evil and bringing death to The Sleeper.
Gameplay 8
Graphics 8
Sound 8
Value 9
Sway 7

8
RPGamer.com
15.10.2003

Gothic 2 is a very well-designed game, but it's just not enjoyable. It has seemingly everything going for it- inventive design, decent graphics, respectable writing, a simple yet varied skill system- but one tragic flaw, one insurmountable problem, brings it all crashing down. The end result is a game that is painful to play, both for its frustration factor and the added fact that there's a really good game hiding in that rubble.
Battle System 6
Interface 7
Music & Sound 5
Originality 8
Story 8
Localization 8
Replay Value 8
Visuals 5
Difficulty Challenging
Completion Time 40-60 hours

5
FragLand.net
24.08.2003

"You are a man with no name, no identity, and no talents." There now, you all know it (watches almost everybody walking away). "No, please come back. I was only bringing everybody in the right mood for my Gothic II review."
Concept: 8.4
Graphics: 8.5
Gameplay: 7.7
Sound: 7.3

80.3%
RPGDot.com
12.08.2003


The game is very good in what it does. It lets the player experience a fantasy story in a seamless medieval 3D world. This world is unique in its combination of details, believable NPCs and freedom of exploration. It´s hard to find any real weaknesses except the translation: The graphics are beautiful, sound and music good, the quests diversified, story and pace pretty good. Possible points for criticism are the improved though still non-standard controls and the self-responsible real time combat.
Graphics: 88%
Sound: 95%
Controls: 90%

91%
Thunderbolt.be
08.07.2003

I've never really been a RPG fan. I think it was the Final Fantasy series that drove me away from the genre with it's linearity, stats, dodgy camera angles and turn-based combat. However, in recent months the so-called A-RPGs like Fable and Morrowind have caught my attention, promising more exploration and action. Leaning towards adventure rather than points and numbers, they seem to be what RPGs should be all about.

8/10
ComputerGames.ro
30.06.2003

It's not a must for you to play Gothic but you should do it because both parts are linked by the story. In Gothic 2 you will meet some characters, locations and also the same hero whose name is still unknown. Once he defeated The Sleeper the magic barrier which surrounded the world from Gothic has disappeared. All of those who worked to gather the magic ore for the king are now spread in all the four directions. The farms were occupied by bandits, not being able to pay the fines they imposed. Some of them hired mercenaries for protection from these bandits but also from the king and some others are now defended by the soldiers who occupied the city center of the Khorinis Island. Above all, besides the possible start of a civil law, the army which is sent in the valley to insure order and reestablish the ore production is attacked and surrounded by orcs who now appear to be guided by the orders of a new evil character.
Gameplay 97
Graphics 92
Sound 89
Impression 98

94
GamersHell.com
21.06.2003

Sometime during the fall of 2001, I gave a fairly unknown game called 'Gothic' a try. My expectations weren't high at all, but it was an RPG - so it could be fun. The game turned out to be one of my all-time favorite games, regardless of genre. The graphics weren't great, the music was okay, the controls were weird at best - but the story was very involving, and kept you going for between 30 and 40 hours (depending on how many quests you did that weren't related to the main quest).
Graphics: 8.5
Sound : 8.5
Gameplay : 9.0
Multiplayer : N/A

9.2


'.$dbartikelname.' Gothic II Gold
'.$dbartikelname.' Gothic 1
'.$dbartikelname.' Gothic 3
- more offers
At present no
poll active.
 
 
  26180168 visits since 06.01
   visits today
  167481028 PI since 06.01
   PI today
  0 visitors online
 
Legal Notice | Link Us
World of Gothic and all Content is by World of Gothic Team || Gothic, Gothic II and Gothic 3 are by Piranha Bytes & Egmont Interactive & JoWooD, all rights reserved worldwide
All materials contained on this site are protected by copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published or broadcast without the prior written permission of the WoG staff.